Ode to the Baptised.

When we died I took your body to the water
and washed away your sins.
I collected them so I could bathe,
basking in secrets left unheard
letting your hidden ‘nothing’s pour over me,
my skin wrinkling with two deceivers’ burdens
recoiling over condemned silences.
I remember the first time I said I love you,
a bargaining chip so you’d stay.
I should’ve known gambling is a fool’s game,
I clutched at straws,
whilst we were desperate to stay afloat
in rivers facing waterfalls.

-Alex W.

Leave a Reply

