Cake and Biriyani.

We’re standing at what feels like the
edge of the world,
the edge of our world
and it is happening.
The world is just happening around us,
I don’t think we care.
We’re staring at each other
sure of nothing but the fact we’re in love;
the irony of it doesn’t hit us
because a fact is something that cannot be disproven,
but this is more concrete than any science lesson.


We’re standing
I say I love you,
you say it too.
We’re in love
we’re out, around, off, under, over, on and in love,
we are everything and everywhere love can be,
in every place we can hide then find it.


I can’t remember the last time I was this happy
and I say that all the kids must have been jealous of you
because you found the thing
that’s been hiding from me all my life.
I say, you keep looking long after the game has ended
and that one last person has been forgotten:
you are a king,
the king of hide and seek.
I make you a crown out of branches
at the edge of the world
and bow to you,
just letting time move around us.


Suddenly the world happens too fast
and we have to separate
‘at least for a while’ you say.
I see the sadness in your eyes
you think I don’t,
you’re hoping that throughout this crumbling
you can stay strong
but some buildings are meant to fall.
So I promise you
‘one day when we’re back here
I will pick up the rubble and bricks
and rebuild us back into the empiric castle
that sheltered me from realities’.


So we walk away solemn,
hoping that someday soon,
sometime just around the corner
we’ll reclaim that paradise
at the edge of the world,
the edge of our world.


-Alex W.

Leave a Reply

