You, the Silence and I (excerpt)

It’s been so long

since we last spoke;

the words that fell withered

and unspoken

never even met your deaf ears.

 

I grew to know the silence as you,

so I sat with it

until it was the only thing that remained.

In place of you

the silence became my lover

and I learnt every muffled confession by heart.

 

When I embraced the silence

I tasted you there,

mixed in with my fear.

You filled my body

and I reeked of you.

 

I wore the silence like armour

worried that if I spoke and broke it,

you’d come back.

It protected me from

realities I was scared to

whisper into existence.

 

-Alex W.

 

Excerpt from a piece I’ve been working on for a poetry film for a festival in mid December!

Leave a Reply

