How to make news: (excerpt)

Dearest, when the world is watching

with bated-breaths

I will climb to the highest point,

use petrol to mark a path to me.

I’m not hiding anymore.

I’ll use our spark to light it,

burning myself into your home,

flirting between the broken bars,

busted cars

and shut-down shops.


As it all comes together,

when the fires unite into a pyre

built from burst tyres,

splintered wood and cracked windows

lie down in the embers,

you are the widow,

our love, the deceased.


We might be extinguished

but these fires don’t need fuel,

watch me burn your city down.



-Alex W.

Leave a Reply

