I won’t say anything.

So what are you going to say at my funeral, now that you’ve killed me?‘ – Warsan Shire
As you stand at the front,
leading the mourning,
do you feel guilt climb up the stairs?
When you start your speech
take in their faces;
my family, your jury.

Now sweetie,
when you say sorry,
can you taste me on your tongue?
Do you swallow me down,
bitter, only to
wake with me in your ear?


You thought this was my funeral?
It is your hearing.
My body, the witness,
to crimes you hid inside me
Have you made your mother
proud yet?

I hope you have learned,
regret is a debt collector,
you are over due.
It will come into your house,
sit at your table,
feast on you.

Look it in the eyes,
face up to it.
‘You may have beaten him’
it’ll say.
‘I can promise you
I won’t be so easy’

-Alex W. (Final first draft for NaPoWriMo 30/30)

Leave a Reply

