Incognito in Transit

You’ve just left me,

I feel broken, at least a little bit,

I’m working on getting better,

I’m getting ready to pick up the pieces,

my friends call me up,

 

ask me if I want to go out

 

 

and I’m

 

 

 

THERE! I’m so totally there man,

it’s been ages man – how are you?

Don’t worry guys, I’ve been keeping up,

social media – we can’t stand it,

can’t stand to live without it, am I right?

How am I dealing with the break up?

Maaan, that’s in the past!

I’m fine, onto greener pastures innit!

It was a dead end relationship anyway,

I’m better off without ‘em!

 

Anyway, let’s get some drinks in,

I’m ready to get fucked UP,

both literally and figuratively, eh?

What have you been up to? How’s Uni going?

Man I miss Uni, man I miss those days,

so chilled now it’s just grind, grind, grind –

kinda like I’m gonna be doing tonight, right?

Right?? RIGHT?!

You know me man, full of jokes man.

I can’t wait for tonight, it’s going to be great.

So, yeh, you were saying – Uni, how is it?

Ah that’s great to hear!

We’re heading out soon right?

Sweet, I’ll get the taxi – my treat guys, my treat,

what club we going to?

 

Hey man, it’s been a minute since we been here,

I’m gonna head back now,

it’s been real man,

been real fun, so much fun,

we gotta do this more often,

nah I’m serious,

it’s GOT to happen,

a night out with my boys,

 

nights out with my boy,

 

 

nights without my boy,

 

 

 

nights without my boy spent in my room,

every night without my boy,

you’ve just left me,

I feel broken, at least a little bit,

I’m working through it.

I’m working on getting better,

I’m working on working on you.

 

-Alex W. (First draft)

 

I’m trying to work with different voices inside one piece more and this was a first draft I wanted to post as a starting point. Any feedback and constructive criticism would be great!

Leave a Reply

