Moonlight

I have been waking in the dead of night,

calling out names I can’t make out.

Do I know them?

…Do they know me?

 

I have been coughing out honesty,

quick, harsh bursts of anxious ramblings;

hard to process.

Harder to swallow.

 

They’ve been growing for a while now,

pushing on my throat,

I gasp and I gasp and I gasp but tonight

they will not let me breathe.

 

Maybe I’ve spent too long thinking,

they say at nighttime things seem worse,

that the moon, bright beacon,

casts light on heavy truths.

 

 

I have been fighting with my conscience –

intent on showing me who’s the bigger man.

In sunlight it will all seem so weightless,

I’m growing impatient for dawn.

 

-A.Webb (first draft)

Leave a Reply

