Face Crack (25/30)

You might be surprised how tiring smiling can be.

I’m not about to tell you how hard it is to be me,

this isn’t a self-loathing poem about life as Alex,

smiling is just something I’ve taught myself to do.

 

It’s a recipe for success:

when the sun comes out and I’m left to be myself again

take a deep breath, ready yourself for a long day and

crack a smile to maintain expectations.

 

It’s time for the performance of a lifetime

or a lifetime of performance I haven’t figured it out yet.

I rely on smiling to avoid disappointment,

although I’ve never figured out who I’m disappointing.

 

Regardless, work your fingers to the bone for them,

these people have paid for the show after all!

You are the light entertainment at the end of the day,

give them what they came to see.

 

-A.Webb (first draft)

Leave a Reply

